403b no match

Hello all, I am a new grad and recently just got hired. I was going through my company’s benefits and they do offer a great pension and an additional 403b plan but no match (due to the pension).

I am currently over 50k in student loan debt and trying to follow the steps outlined by PFC: How to prioritize your money (The phases of investing) – Personal Finance Club as well as PFC’s ultimate investing checklist.

My question is should I still contribute a minimum amount (6% of my salary) to the 403b while aggressively paying off my debt?

or should I focus solely on phase 2 of paying off any non mortgage debt before contributing to my 403 b and other investments?

the link(s) posted here are purely for reference and is not intended for advertising or promotional purposes

After reading through the phases Jeremy suggests going through each phase before investing but I’m not sure I 100% agree.

1 Like

Thank you for the response.

Based on the phases Jeremy has outlined I think I will contribute the minimum of 6% even though there’s no match. That way I will be able to complete phase 1 & 2. This plan should be adequate enough to pay off my debt very soon while investing early!

@rafu22 congrats on getting started on this path so early, great work!

To add to your review, check out this post. It says (and I agree) to contribute to a Roth IRA before your 403b. The main reason is that you have MANY more options and typically lower fees in an IRA than 403b, typically.

I advise to first set a savings rate - i.e. how much of your money you can sweep to savings each month. This is a fun tool for that: Early Retirement Calculator

Then use both of the posts mentioned here to guide where you direct that money each month/paycheck.