Am I Too Late to Start A F.I.R.E?!

Hello Community - An Older Newbie here. Please be gentle! Not everyone gets on the financial freedom train early… Life happens:

A message to Jeremy:

Dear Sir

First of all, a huge congratulations on your amazing achievement - it’s obviously something you’ve worked very hard for. I only discovered your IG a week ago and I’ve been trying to find time to read all your content.

I hope you don’t mind me reaching out and I know it’s a long shot. I hit 45 this year and didn’t really discover the FIRE movement until a couple years ago. While working for the UK + US gov as a civil servant in England (I’m Anglo American) I also have been a long term primary carer for my mother for the last 10 or so years. A lot of people don’t understand this. But mom made many sacrifices for me after my father (a Vietnam vet) passed away when I was six. So I owe her very much.

Unfortunately, this has led me to a stage in life I feel I’ve missed a chance. With maybe only 20 years left to build up a chance at a comfortable retirement. I mean I’m a post grad, but school, college, government work - they never teach you personal finance Sir would you have any advice or content you could offer a guy like me?

VR

Matt

1 Like

Hello Matt, and welcome to the community! I just wanted say what you’re doing for your mother is wonderful and very commendable. I don’t think anyone should hold that against you, no matter the sacrifices I’m sure you’ve made.