Basic investing Q- Monthly contributions, into same securities?

Newbie here. This fundamental question has been nagging me as I begin my journey into buy and hold. Let’s say I buy a fund at $100 a share. Or a few different funds at varying prices.
I want to contribute/invest $1000 on a monthly basis.
Where do I dump this monthly contribution? Into the same funds?
The funds I’ve bought, the share prices go up and down. As the prices go up, for $1000 I can afford fewer shares. So my average price per share over time creeps upward. It’s like continually buying into Amazon after the profit is baked in - though not quite that extreme.
Or, do I keep looking for different funds that are at a bargain?
There’s some concept here I’m just not getting if anyone can explain it to me.
Why would I keep buying a fund if it’s price goes up to $175/ share, if I had previously got it for $100/share? I can only afford less and less of it, and my avg price goes up. Am I thinking wrong here? Thanks for any guidance.

Hi Christopher,
Yes, ideally you would contribute monthly into the same funds.
The reason why you would keep buying a fund when it goes up to $175/share is because one day it will be $300/share and beyond :slight_smile: Obviously it’s preferable to buy all our shares at $100/share, but since that is not possible… it just shows the importance of investing early and often.
Hope that helps!

If I understand correctly and you are not trying to time the market, your question is akin to why continue to buy the same fund, let me see if my reasoning is something you can relate to.

For starters, I am a TDIF type of person, since I don’t like to have to rebalance my portfolio and I trust (for a lack of a better word) the fund management that Vanguard ( my broker) is providing me.