Confused on my 403b - Is it an annuity?

Hello everyone! I am new to this just finished the course this morning. I am a teacher and currently have a 403b that doesn’t have too much in it since I just started it. Last night after finishing one of Jeremy’s videos I decided to check my account and see what my 403b consisted of since I really had not idea. I just knew it would be good to start. I found out it is with National Life Group.

I logged on and it says Annuity. I quickly checked the course to see if there were any topics in the videos listed as that and didn’t see anything. When I checked the allocations it says

S & P 500 Average Index 45.36%
S & P 500 Ending Index 44.73%
DECL ACCUM Fund. 9.90%

I figured since it says index it should be good. I’m just confused of the annuity part. What does that mean? What does “ending index” mean? Like I said I am so new to this and wish I would’ve taken the course before I started this 403b.

Thank you in advance for any help you can offer.

I a teacher and just learning about investing! I have not even set up my 403b yet! Hope to learn more.

Hi @ARuiz31!

Oh man. This is unfortunately a story I’ve heard way too many times and it honestly makes my blood boil. I assume someone came to your school to help you set this up? Or contacted you through your school somehow? Maybe they were even wearing a suit? That was an insurance salesperson.