Help a newbie investor help Mom avoid potential financial ruin

Hi all! Tried to keep this short, but the details are important.

I am new to investing - new as in I know next to nothing, and am only partway through the PFC course. I contribute more than the max to my company 401k and that’s as much as I have ever done, investment-wise. Literally, I know nothing.

My mom, who is 66 and just retired from an accounting/financial mgt of a small non-profit position, and who is independent and very smart but who I am concerned is starting to show a few signs of early dementia (can’t remember she told me a very in-depth story the day prior and tells me all over again, relays things to me that happened when I was there with her, etc), was left in a good financial position by my father when he passed five years ago. Although she’s an accountant, he was an engineer and he was the financial mastermind between the two of them, so he managed their investments.

After he passed, she researched three financial management companies and hired one to assess her situation. They did, and set her up in a way to ensure that she will have access to her money when needed, but it’s still in accounts that’s accruing interest, and she’ll get maximum social security (as in, they talked about when she should retire to get the most out of it), plus they talked about putting her house and other assets in trust so if she gets sick, she doesn’t lose her shirt to medical bills. Overall, it seemed like they did a pretty good job for her.