Home Ownership ROI

Hey all,

I have a good friend with a Masters in Real Estate saying that real estate investment property and being a homeowner and thinking of yourself as the “rental tenant” for the house you live in can be a great ROI. He is saying that if when you buy a house you rent it to yourself at the price you would rent it to someone else then you are getting a great ROI on your investment. Do you agree with this? He is saying - do you trust yourself more to pay the rent or someone else? Since you will pay the rent consistently you are giving yourself a great ROI.

He is also claiming that being a home owner can be a nice way to get more diversification away from Index Investing and as a hedge against inflation. Full transparency, 95% of my net worth is in index funds.

Honestly I am very content with renting, have rented for 10 years in NYC and it has been great. The only reason I would consider buying is for flexibility in customizing my primary residence the way I would like. Examples include adding his and her sinks, or a larger bath tub, etc. Renting thus far has not provided a bath to do this, though maybe it could?

Thank you very much in advance!

1 Like

Hello Wombat! Jeremy has extensive posts about renting versus buying. What is mostly boils down to is personal preference and living below your means regardless of which option you choose. Most personal finance gurus these days (including Jeremy) don’t consider real estate a “good investment” as much as they consider it a personal choice and a forced savings account of sorts. I personally rent by choice because I value the flexibility, but buying can be the right choice in a lot of situations if you are diligent in running the numbers and don’t tie up all of your money in the home (diversification).