Leave Advisor or stay help

Hello. I am new to learning on taking over my investing. Years ago, I signed up with a local Franklin Templeton advisor. I don’t completely understand the fee portion of his charge. Here is a blurb from one of the advisors in the office.
“The A share that your C shares will convert into have an annual expense of 0.72% annually. Of that we are paid 0.25%. In the C share, you pay 1.12% with 0.65% going to us. Commission is 4.25% up to $100,000. After $100,000, the commission reduces to 3.25%. If you consider the reduction in the internal expenses from 1.12% to 0.72%.”
Can you help me understand this?

1. Am I paying extremely high fee’s for this account? I really like this fund & would like to keep it & watch it grow but I don’t want to be paying extravagant fee’s.
  2. Is my advisor getting the commission & some annual expense?
  3. If I want out, will I end up paying a lot in taxes just to switch to another?
    Any help or advice is appreciated. Thank you!
1 Like