Question regarding rebalancing my portfolio from individual stocks to index funds

Hello all! I feel a little naive. I’ve been investing for 7 years now and have always been a dollar cost average index fund guy. I’ve seen the benefits of it… although the market has also always been on the up and up really since I started investing. After March last year I started talking to a coworker about motley fool which he was big on and decided to give the service a try for a year. I started using motley fool in September and have had extremely good results investing in Individual stocks namely growth stocks. I was only using a portion of my roth IRA to start but saw the incredible returns and slowly started exposing my 401k and my wifes roth IRA after the new year. However since then growth stocks have taken a big hit due to rising bond yields and I’ve lost nearly all my gains in my roth and now am at a loss in my wife’s IRA and my 401k. (On the year not overall). I want to move my money back into index funds to be more stable but its hard to sell where I’m at now knowing where I was at literally a month ago. For instance I have some growth stocks that had 200% returns by last month and now that I bought them in different accounts I’m at 30 and 40% losses as they have pulled back. Any insight in how best to reallocate? Should I take it as a lesson and rip the bandaid to get back into indexes or should I slowly sell positions as they come back up? Thanks for any advice you all may have.

Ty,

Number 1 rule of investing is invest only in what you know and believe in. So ask yourself: Do you truly believe in the company value and the potential of the growth stocks that you bought? If you truly believe in its value and potential when you first bought it, the sudden dip as a result of the rising interest rates shouldn’t change your opinion of the company potential. But if you don’t believe in its growth potential, then it’s best to get out while you still have gains.