Should I sell or rent my house during this crazy covid time?

Hey there! I live in San Diego too (work in PB) and hoped you had advice about whether I should sell or rent out my house. Before Covid, we were all about renting especially with the housing prices in SD. I’ve never done it before and nervous about getting a reliable and consistent renter with Covid and a recession. We’re buying a bigger house for the fam and the market is super competitive and great for sellers. Two friends sold their houses in a day and both got 40k over there asking price. We’re leaning toward selling bc if the craziness of Covid and the moratoriums for renters. Right now, we would probably profit $200-300 a month if we did everything ourselves or about $100 to break even if we hired a company. What do you think? Thanks in advance for your advice!

Welcome @Corina!

Can you give some more details on the property? How much would you be able to sell it for? How much would you be able to rent it for? What is your remaining mortgage on the property?

We owe 400k, estimated at 520k but a same style house in the neighborhood just sold For 542k. We saw that rents seem lower since covid so I think a range of 2400-2700/mth would be the going rate.

Our current payment is $2175 but we’d have to hire a landscaper (~$120/mth). We’re moving 10min away so can deal with everything directly, otherwise the property manager estimated a fee of 8-10% of rent.

So let’s break it down. Monthly expenses:

• Mortgage: $2,175 (I assume this covers taxes too?)
  • Insurance: $100 (do you know this number?)
  • Landscaping: $120
  • Maintenance: $400 (Not every month of course, but shit will always break and it adds up. This estimate is below 1%/year of the property value which is on the very low end of maintenance estimates)

So your “net operating income” is the rent, minus expenses. By my math, at best that’s -$95/month, assuming you self manage and get the full $2,700/month with zero vacancy ever.