Student Loans and where to invest first

I have high student loan debt in which I am paying on an IDR payment plan within the Public Service Loan Forgiveness Program (PSLF). I will be eligible for forgiveness in 6.5 years and with my high debt, I am the perfect participant in this program as majority of my loans will be forgiven. So I try to pay the smallest amount possible. I work in Education, so I have a Pension (9% contributions, cannot be increased or decreased) that is newly fully paid for by my Board of Education (making my actual take-home more because typically has been paid by me). I also have a 403b account sponsored by my work, but with 0% match. This contribution is pre-tax (making my student loan payment smaller).

My question is…
Do I try to max out my 403b (to then also lower my student loan payments, but will not likely be able to contribute the max $20,500) before opening a Roth IRA (I’ll likely be able to contribute the max $6,000). Or do I focus on the Roth IRA before trying to contribute more to the 403b?

I feel as though my situation is somewhat unique and I’m not sure how to move forward, which is creating paralysis by analysis… any assistance is welcome!

Hi @heatherlane21! It’s a great question! Here are three thoughts from me!

1. If you lowered your AGI by contributing to your traditional 403(b), how much would that change your IDR monthly payment? Is it a relatively small amount it would be lowered by? I know it depends on a number of variables. If it only lowers it by a small amount, it’s probably not worth prioritizing.